The use of To Be, + adjective and + V-ing

January 22, 2010 at 3:16 pm | Posted in Learn English, Practice English, The use of "To Be" | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,
“Be + Adjective”

Adjectives describe or give information about a noun or a pronoun that comes at the beginning of a sentence.

Examples

–          I’m crazy          –      you are funny

–          He is young     –      it’s expensive

(fast, old, poor, rich, strong, weak, sweet, sour,  bitter, fussy, easy, difficult, happy, clean, dirty, energetic, dangerous, tall, single, thin, hungry, healthy, afraid, quiet, sleepy, stupid, smart, handsome, pretty)

“Be + Ving” (Progressive tense)

Present Continuous tense

Michael    :  hallo, Good evening….

Timothy   : Hi Mac, it’s me, Tom. I’m calling from police office in Denpasar. I’m in a trouble

Michael    : oh really? What’s up man?

Timothy   : I got a stop at the crossroad around matahari square Denpasar.  I left my driving license at home.

Michael    : well, what can I do for you?

Timothy   : could you take it in my home and bring here? Because they don’t allow me to go out here.

Michael    : oh God, I’m still working now. I’m having meeting with some clients. Is it ok if I ask my sister Ann, to take it? She is just spending her time at home today.

Timothy   : alright, that’s good idea. Thanks Mac,

Furmula

Subject  +  (am, is are)  +  verb-ing  +  (complement)

Discussion

–          What kind of boy/girl do you like?

–          Does dating really support your study? Why?

–          What’s the negative side of making special relationship, especially for the student?

–          Do you think the boy’s/girl’s performance in front of you is their real daily performance

–          How do we keep our love to somebody?

Exercise 1 (please find out the opposite of the adjective in the first sentence)

  1. I’m happy. I’m not sad
  2. Flowers are beautiful. They are not ugly
  3. My hair isn’t long. …………………………………………
  4. Cars are expensive. ……………………………………….
  5. English isn’t difficult. ……………………………………..
  6. My brother isn’t short. ………………………………….
  7. Lemons are sour. ………………………………………….
  8. A tiger isn’t weak. …………………………………………
  9. He’s ugly. ……………………………………………………..
  10. My clothes are dirty. ……………………………………

Exercise 2 (complete the story using the present continuous. Fill in the blanks with am, is, are and the –ing form of the verb in parentheses)

The martin Family

It’s nine o’clock Sunday evening. The Martin family ………………….(spend) the evening at home. Mrs. Martin ……………….. (relax). She …………………. (watch) her favorite TV program, and she ………………… (eat) popcorn. Mr. Martin is a high school teacher. He is ………………….. (correct) and he is …………………….. (plan) his lesson for tomorrow. Lisa martin is in her room. She is ………………… (do) her homework and she is ……………………………(study) for a spelling quiz.

The Martin grandparents ………………….. (visit) their son and his family. They ……………………. (stay) with the Martins for one week. Grandmother Martin ………………… (play) with the baby, and grandfather Martin ………………. (write) a letter. It’s a busy evening at the Martin family

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

